Dr. Jan Rothhardt.

Awarded for contributions in XUV laser technology

ACP principal scientist and laser physicist Jan Rothhardt receives Röntgen Prize 2020
Dr. Jan Rothhardt.
Image: Jan-Peter Kasper (University of Jena)
  • Light

Published: 25 November 2020, 21:03 | By: Lisa Dittrich; translation into English: Clara Henkel

In 2020, the "Röntgenpreis" of the University of Giessen goes to Dr. Jan Rothhardt from the Helmholtz Institute Jena and the Friedrich Schiller University Jena. The prize, endowed with 15.000 euros, will be awarded on November 27 as part of an academic ceremony - only digital due to Corona.

The 39-year-old junior research group leader and ACP principal scientist Dr. Jan Rothhardt receives the award in recognition of his outstanding contributions in laser technology, in particular for the development and application of laser sources for extreme ultraviolet (XUV) radiation and soft X-rays. Rothhardt worked intensively on the applications of such systems and was able to show both mathematically and experimentally for the first time that efficient conversion into the XUV spectral range is also possible with high-power lasers and at high repetition frequencies. The XUV sources he has developed will enable laser spectroscopy experiments that are unique worldwide on heavy ion storage rings. Quantum electrodynamics (QED), relativistic effects, but also core properties and ultra-fast processes are at the center of these interdisciplinary experiments.

Excellent X-ray physicist and glider pilot

Jan Rothhardt studied physics at the University of Jena and received his doctorate in 2011. The internationally known laser physicist has headed a junior research group at the Helmholtz Institute Jena since 2014 and is the author and co-author of almost 70 publications in scientific journals. He regularly receives excellent student reviews for his lectures and seminars. In addition, he is
committed to a special experimental lecture at grammar schools to inspire schoolchildren
for laser technology. In his free time, he apparently strives for even greater things: Jan Rothhardt was world champion in gliding in 2016.

Because of the corona pandemic, the award winner will not travel to Giessen this year. The X-ray lecture entitled “High-resolution lensless microscopy with extreme ultraviolet radiation” will take place on November 26th as a Webex stream. At the digital academic ceremony, Dr. Rothhardt - like the other award winners - switched on via video. The prize money of 15.000 euros is donated by Pfeiffer Vacuum and the Ludwig Schunk Foundation. In memory of the Nobel Prize winner
Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, who was professor in Gießen from 1879 to 1888, the University of Giessenhas been awarding the prize since 1960.

Share this page
Friedrich Schiller University on social media:
Studying amid excellence:
  • Logo of the "Total E-Quality" initiative
  • Logo of the best practice club "Family in Higher Education Institutions"
  • Logo of the "Partner University of High Performance Sports" project
  • Logo of quality of German Accreditation Council - system accredited
Top of the page