Six ASP MSc Photonics students studying in Jena as part of a cooperation with XATU-SOEE

ACP Extends Education Cooperation with the School of Optoelectronic Engineering of Xi 'an Technological University

The Abbe Center of Photonics and the Xi'an Technological University School of Optoelectronic Engineering have intensified their cooperation with a new Memorandum of Understanding.
Six ASP MSc Photonics students studying in Jena as part of a cooperation with XATU-SOEE
Image: Dorit Schmidt, FSU Jena
  • Light
  • Life
  • Liberty

Published: | By: Gleb Chupakhin

Since 2017, the Abbe Center of Photonics (ACP) of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena has taken part in a master's student exchange program with the Xi'an Technological University's School of Optoelectronic Engineering (XATU-SOEE). To date, six students have been granted scholarships from XATU-SOEE to study in Jena and to obtain the M.Sc. Photonics degree at the Abbe School of Photonics (ASP).

On June 29th , 2022, ACP and XATU-SOEE representatives signed a new Memorandum of Understanding extending the scope of previous collaboration. After successfully obtaining the M.Sc. Photonics degree in Jena, XATU-SOEE students will now be invited to apply for an individual doctoral position within ACP's doctoral program and, contingent on admission by a doctoral supervisor, will then become degree-seeking doctoral students at ACP. In addition, ACP and XATU-SOEE will make efforts to carry out doctoral training programs, joint training of doctoral students and mutual visits of non-degree seeking doctoral students, postdocs and research staff according to the new agreement. Other aspects of the Memorandum of Understanding remain unchanged from 2017.

About Xi'an Technological University School of Optoelectronic Engineering

Xi'an Technological University is a highly ranked university in Shaanxi Province in central China. It is the first-class national university for discipline development in Shaanxi Province and a pilot university of the P.R.C.'s Education Ministry for "Excellence in Engineering Education". The University's School of Optoelectronic Engineering is a full-scale research and teaching faculty consisting of 122 people, among whom are 28 professors, 41 associate professors, 90 doctors, 28 adjunct professors, 2 provincial-level distinguished teachers and 2 provincial-level teaching teams. XATU-SOEE offers several PhD, graduate and undergraduate programs to provide a challenging and enjoyable educational experience in the broad field of optoelectronics through academic instruction, laboratory exercises and international networking.

ACP and XATU-SOEE share a substantial number of goals within the fields of optics and photonics, including meeting the highest international education standards for students and early-career researchers. Both institutions agree that these goals can only be achieved based on close international cooperation. The new Memorandum of Understanding is intended to further intensify joint activities and create added value in research and education – more than each institution could accomplish alone.