Readspeaker menu


MPSP_Wanka_2017Starting in autumn 2018, the Abbe School of Photonics will be coordinating one of the three prestigious Max Planck Schools, which were implemented by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) as national networks of excellence. The Max Planck School of Photonics (MPSP) will focus the key strengths of the German photonics community and will support highly skilled young researchers on a world class level. The national network of excellence aims to level the playing field with elite institutions, such as the Harvard University or the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) by setting new standards in the research with light.

"MPSP marks a new level of networking in the photonics community. It pushes the frontiers on cutting edge topics, such as attosecond physics and quantum photonics. The network showcases the photonics community's ability to bridge the borders of disciplines and cross institutional barriers, enabling it to tackle grand challenges in science" contributes Prof. Andreas Tünnermann, founding director of the MPSP, director of the Fraunhofer-Institute of Applied Optics and Precision Engineering IOF Jena, its Center of Excellence in Photonics, and Professor at the Abbe School of Photonics. Prof. Edgar Weckert, director for the Research with Photons at the German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) in Hamburg adds, that the Max Planck School of Photonics "is an excellent platform, to showcase the potential of collaboration, blending in perfectly with the communities push for the implementation of a National Photonics Labs research infrastructure." Prof. Gerd Leuchs, also founding director of MPSP and director of the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen explains: "The members of the Max Planck School of Photonics embark upon the common quest, to understand and control light on all scales, using it, to develop solutions for a large scale of societal challenges." Prof. Reimund Neugebauer, President of the Fraunhofer-Society adds: "The Max Planck Schools are an excellent program, to attract the Best of the Best, creating bridges between the disciplines."

The MPSP is coordinated by the Abbe School of Photonics, where it has become one of the world's prime locations for education on Photonics. "Our two international Master Degrees show that Germany is a highly attractive location for research-oriented education in Photonics, on an internationally excellent level" is noted by Prof. Walter Rosenthal, President of the University of Jena. Thuringia's Minister Economy, Science and the Digital Society, Wolfgang Tiefensee, elaborates: "This success is based, in particular, on the prolific cooper-ation between university-based and non-university research facilities as well as the photonics industry. MPSP will expand on this success on a national level with regards to research and research oriented training".

The MPSP connects existing national and international graduate programs, such as the International Max Planck Research Schools (IMPRS), the DFG Graduate Schools, the PIER Helmholtz Graduate Schools as well as the graduate school of the federal Excel-lence Initiative. The consortium aims to connect all major and innovative communities within Photonics to an interdisciplinary cluster. The Max Planck School of Photonics is supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research with a sum of EUR 15 million and by the Fraunhofer-Society with an additional support of EUR 4 million.

About our Partners

The partners of the Max Planck School of Photonics are based in seven locations in Germany:

  • University of Hamburg,
  • Georg August University Göttingen (GAU),
  • Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen (RWTH),
  • Friedrich Schiller University Jena (FSU),
  • Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg (FAU),
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT),
  • Ludwig Maximilians University Munich (LMU).

It also represents the impact of all the four big German Research Societies by

  • the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied Optics and Precision Engineering IOF,
  • the Fraunhofer Institute for Laser Technology ILT,
  • the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry (BPC),
  • the Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light (MPL),
  • the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics (MPQ),
  • the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY),
  • the Helmholtz Centre for Heavy Ion Research Institute Jena (GSI HIJ),
  • and the Leibniz Institute of Photonic Technology (IPHT).


>> link to the press release of the BMBF

>> link to the press release of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena

>> link to the press release of the Fraunhofer IOF

previous | next