Readspeaker menu



The newly elected OSA fellow membersUlf Peschel and Thomas Pertsch.

The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading US professional society for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries and accelerate achievements in the science of light. To achieve these goals, OSA provides an extensive global network of professionals in optics and photonics.

Annually, OSA announces a list of OSA members which are elected as the newest class of OSA fellow members or "OSA fellows". These fellows are elected by OSA's board of directors for their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics. Among 2015's fellows are ACP scientists Ulf Peschel and Thomas Pertsch.

OSA Fellows are selected based on their overall impact on optics, as gauged through factors such as specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, technical leadership in the field, and service to OSA and the global optics community. This process is highly competitive, as no more than 10 percent of the OSA Membership may be Fellows.  More than 50 percent of 2015's fellow members reside outside of the United States. "The Optical Society is honored to offer recognition for their outstanding contributions and leadership in the optics and photonics profession," said OSA president Philip Bucksbaum. 

Ulf Peschel and Thomas Pertsch are particularly selected as OSA fellows in view of their respective seminal contributions in the fields of parity-time symmetric systems, discrete photonic lattices, nonlinear optics and nanostructured photonic metamaterials. The ACP community congratulates their colleagues for this great public and scientific recognition!


>> link to the full list of OSA fellows 2015

previous | next