Readspeaker menu


The coherent internationalization of research and teaching is a cornerstone of the Friedrich Schiller University's excellence strategy. In particular at the Abbe Center of Photonics (ACP), networking with foreign higher education units had ever played a vital role. "The permanent contact and exchange with international elite universities is an essential part of our philosophy", explains ACP director Thomas Pertsch. "We are convinced that we can keep research and teaching constantly on an international top level only if our professional network is oriented internationally as well", Pertsch explained. Now this network is high in one more point: ACP is partner in the recently initiated international cooperation program NANOPHI ("Europe-Asia-Pacific Exchange program in Nanophotonics"), in which overall eight universities from Europe, Australia and New Zealand are involved. The project will be funded with EUR 1.5 million for four years within the scope of the European Commission's mobility program Erasmus Mundus. The purpose of the program is the exchange of researchers and lecturers as well as the buildup of an international research network in the field of Nanophotonics.

NANOPHI officially started in October 2014. "We wished for new impulses for key aspects in nanophotonic synergies concerning experimental work, for instance in the field of nano-based optoelectronics and the high-resolution micro- and nanoscopy", said Thomas Pertsch, after the kick-off meeting at the Université Paris Diderot in October 2014. "Furthermore, a sustainable internationalization of the Doctoral program at our Abbe School of Photonics is one of the aims of the NANOPHI project," emphasized Jena's spokesman of the research network.

The first mobility call of NANOPHI has now been issued and is open until March 20, 2015: Jena's doctoral students, postdocs, research scientists and lecturers in the field of nanophotonics can apply for an individual research stay at the Australian National University in Canberra or at the Massey University, located in New Zealand's capital Wellington. The first researches from Jena can already start towards Oceania starting from June 2015, and the first Australian and New Zealand guests will be welcomed in Europe. Moreover, the program systematically supports the expansion of research relations between European partners. These are, along with the University Jena, the Università degli Studi di Brescia (Italy), the Université Paris Diderot (France), the Aston University (Great Britain), the King's College London (GB) as well as the Sofia University "St. Kliment Ohridski" (Bulgaria), which has long been the cooperation partner of the University Jena.

>> more information concerning the program

>> link to the first mobility call - open until March 20, 2015

previous | next